You’re making it hard to love you NSP

Andrew, I was with you when you kept retaining Marcus North because once in a while, he would score a century amongst his failures, I was optimistic when Xavier Doherty got a call up despite having a horrible average and being carted in both his test matches but I think this is the straw that breaks the camel’s back. Michael Beer, really?

The guy has played five first class games, all coming this season and none of them were epic nine or ten wicket hauls where he destroyed a team, Beer’s “best” figures were 3/39 in an innings while averaging 38. The only way I can see he was picked, was some throwaway remark by Shane Warne a few weeks ago, where he said Beer would be his choice of spinner, mostly said I think to show some knowledge of the domestic game, nothing more.

Not stats which scare the English aye, making this selection even more ridiculous is Nathan Hauritz, who I admit even I bagged when he wasn’t performing but I think he should take up another sport because someone within the Australian set up doesn’t think he’s useful even after a Man of the Match performance for NSW, scoring 146 and taking three wickets, poor guy.

Besides the daft Beer selection, the changes aren’t much removed from the ones I predicted in the last post. Phillip Hughes came in for Simon Katich and promptly scored a duck for NSW in their second innings, Marcus North was finally dropped, yay and replaced by Steven Smith who will be there for his batting, which is the stronger of his skillset at the present time.

On the bowling side, Doug Bollinger who didn’t have the happiest time in Adelaide while not looking 100% fit, was dropped for the mercurial Mitchell Johnson who hopefully learnt something bowling in the nets, since he didn’t get a chance to bowl for Western Australia for some unknown reason. Xavier Doherty paid for his pie chucking being replaced by the aforementioned Beer who I don’t see faring much better and Ben Hilfenhaus’ exile lasted one test also being recalled.

Lastly before I end this post and bang my head against a brick wall trying to contemplate the selections, National Selection Panel I hope you are enjoying the position for the moment because if this Beer gamble doesn’t pay off, your heads will truly be on the chopping block and rightfully so, also Ricky won’t be far behind.

This entry was posted in Cricket and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment